Book Review: Butterfly Dreams by A. Meredith Walters

24481467Butterfly Dreams
by A. Meredith Walters

Summary from Goodreads:

In a powerful romance for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and If I Stay, New York Times bestselling author A. Meredith Walters tells the story of a troubled young woman and the unforgettable guy who teaches her to live—and love—to the fullest.

She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way.

He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find.

Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever—the only promise they have is right now.

TSR My Review

I had wanted to read a book by this author for a while and just finally got around to it.  Butterfly Dreams is the first book I picked up but I’m not sure it was the best choice for me.  In hindsight, I should’ve realized that some things were going to bother me but I think I overlooked them because I really wanted to give this author a try.  Even with that being said, I was actually quite pleased with the story.  If it weren’t for my “issues” it would’ve easily been a 5 star read, so don’t let this deter you from reading Butterfly Dreams.

The reason why I couldn’t give it 5 stars was primarily because of Corin. I usually like flawed characters but in her case, her issues weren’t quirky and endearing but annoying and irritating.  I struggled to like her for the first half of the book.  She reminded me of my mother who irks me to no end when she plays martyr and claims she’s going to drop dead any minute (her way of getting attention and/or guilt tripping me). I didn’t mind Corin being blunt and rude, in fact, I can tolerate a bitchy character but her issues hit close to home for me. Such a shame.  Luckily, things got better for me when her attitude began to change.  I was grateful for the positive effect that Beck had on her.  He was more reasonable and rational, making him a more relatable character in my opinion.

After that, I was able to focus on the story instead of focusing on Corin’s issues.  The second half of the book went much better for me and I really liked it toward the end.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*

4 out of 5 stars

4 stars

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: Butterfly Dreams by A. Meredith Walters

  1. Thanks for the review! I was considering this book. I’m not sure if I will get it or not. I think I would have the same sentiments as you about the character Corin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s